Display Contest



This amazing display came from Spenser and it inspired us to start our own display contest! Send us your photos of any Cultures of Soul Records release and you’ll be entered into a contest to win a Cultures of Soul goody pack including stickers, posters, CDs, and vinyl. To enter post your photos on our Facebook page here. Contest ends on December 9th so enter now. Contest valid only in the United States.

The Brasileiro Treasure Box Release Party at Soulelujah

slljer102315 slljed102315 sllj102315

Deano Sounds and the Soulelujah Crew had an excellent time at the Brasileiro Treasure Box Release Party at the Middle East in Central Sqaure on October 23rd! You can check out more photos here. All photos courtesy of John Allen. Don’t forget the Brasileiro Treasure Box of Funk and Soul is available at all fine retailers across the global or directly from us at  our shop!

DeanoSounds by Soulelujah on Mixcloud

Record Shop Spotlight – Clinton Street Record and Stereo



We’re starting a new series to highlight some of the wonderful record stores around the world who also happen to stock our releases. The first shop we’re featuring is the excellent Clinton Street Record and Stereo in Portland, Oregon. This place has a bevy of excellent new and used records in many genres including funk/soul/rock/disco/reggae/afro – all reasonably priced. You can also find many of our releases as well! The store is nicely organized and also sells vintage receivers, turntables, and speakers. If you’re in southeast Portland check them out or check them out online at Clinton Street Records and Stereo.



We’re on Bandcamp!


We’ve finally signed up for Bandcamp which we’re finding is a great platform for our artists!  Artists featured on our Bandcamp include; Evans Pyramid, Stanton Davis, Afro Kelenkye Band, and many others! And we have a special now. As an incentive to get you to check out our Bandcamp we’re giving you 30% off all of our releases available on Bandcamp through the end of the month so come check it out – Cultures on BandCamp! Use Promo code fall30. Expires on September 30th.

*Due to licensing restrictions certain releases may not be available on Bandcamp.

New Digging in the Crates Mix Series – In Your Ear Record Store


We’re starting a new series of mixes featuring records we’ve picked up in various places including thrift stores, antique stores, flea markets, yard sales, bazaars, and of course record stores! No online purchases or boutique record stores included here! Our first stop is from a dig we did back in June at one of Boston’s best record store’s, In Your Ear Records.

Nothing too rare or obscure here. Just a really eclectic mix of big drum sounds, hip hop samples, Digi Reggae, classic disco, funky reggae, lesbian group Jazz Funk, Haitian compas, all of which we picked up at In Your Ear Records on that fateful day back in June.

Digging in the Crates Volume – In Your Ear Records by Cultures Of Soul on Mixcloud

Pre-order for The Brasileiro Treasure Box of Funk and Soul

Box booklet-01

Greg Caz and Deano Sounds have teamed up once again to bring you another fine package of vintage Brazilian music. This one stretches across the scope of funk, soul, and psychedelic music from Brazil. Some highlights include: the extremely rare and funky “Labirinto” by 2001 & Beto, the blistering psychedelic funk of Antônio Carlos & Jocafi’s “Quem Vem Lá,” the essential rare groove track “Bananeira” by Emilio Santiago, Osmar Milito E Quarteto Forma’s rare “América Latina”  sampled by Madlib, Tom Zé’s unstoppable riff on “Jimmy, Renda-Se,” and many others. Here are some words on the project from co-compiler and Brazilian music aficionado, Greg Caz:

“Without necessarily having a central theme other than funky nuggets from the first half of the 70s, we believe this compilation displays its own particular sense of logic, and that these songs ultimately all sound fantastic together. Regardless of one’s familiarity, or lack thereof, with artists like Antonio Carlos & Jocafi, Os Incríveis, Toni Tornado or Celia, the material on these 45s speaks its own truth and justifies their inclusion here. Many of these were originally available as singles, while others were taken from albums, but all are guaranteed to find their way into many DJ boxes and playlists.”

The 45 box set version comes in a durable glossy case with 7 x 45s, a poster containing the original artwork for the album, and a booklet printed on thick paper. The release date for this is October 23rd. You can pre-order it the box here or a CD version of the set here.


COS 015_bundle_675


COS 015_front_back_1170

Tracklisting :

1. Antônio Carlos & Jocafi – Quem Vem Lá

2. Os Incríveis – Paz E Amor

3. Toni Tornado – Bochechuda

4. Toni Tornado – Aposta

5. Emilio Santiago – Bananeira

6. Osmar Milito E Quarteto Forma – América Latina

7.  2001 & Beto – Labirinto

8. Trio Mocotó – Swinga Sambaby

9. Tom Zé – Jimmy, Renda-se

10. Eduardo Araujo – Kizumbau

11. Celia – A Hora é Essa

12. Franco – Ei, Você, Psiu!

13. Novos Baianos – Juventude Sexta e Sábado

14. Dom Salvador E Abolição ‎ – Uma Vida

Shadow 12″ Repress is Coming!

We apologize for the delay on this one! I know it has been out of stock for a hot minute now. But we are scheduled to receive them in late July/early August! In the meantime you can reserve your copy at our store and check out the killer rework by the Whiskey Barons below. UPDATE – Repress is delayed due to the overflow of product being pressed at the pressing plant.